I’m a card carrying member of the Saint John Cycling Club!

I attended my first Saint John Cycling Club meeting last night and I paid the requested $10 to be a member. About 20 people attended the meeting at the Lily Lake interpretation Centre. The weather was dreary so that probably helped with the attendance a bit. We’ve had so few nice evenings that the diehards would have otherwise been out on the roads/trails.

The club was started in 2011 and is a registered non-profit organization with the goal of supporting growth of all aspects of cycling in Saint John and surrounding communities. According to the SJC website “We are a club open to anyone in the Saint John area who cycles, or would like to be involved in cycling. This includes all types of cycling, at all levels, anywhere in Saint John and its surrounding communities.”

From what I heard last night, I have a feeling that a large portion of the active membership is involved in “cross country” cycling… i.e. navigating roots and rocks as well as building and maintaining trails (as opposed to the road biking/touring that my husband and I do). That being said, they do advocate for better road conditions, dedicated bike lanes and signage which we would certainly benefit from. I was happy to contribute my $10. Technically, there’s no membership card but still…membership has it’s privileges…free water and cinnamon rolls!

Image

One thought on “I’m a card carrying member of the Saint John Cycling Club!

  1. Pingback: A Healthy Dose of Round Up | This Blog Is About Health- Surprise!

What's your spin on this?

