GoPro handlebar mount…you get what you pay for.

I’ve been trying to get some creative cycling footage using the GoPro. I needed a tripod mount. Ebay had some for $5 but then I found a bicycle handlebar mount which included the tripod adapter for $9.00 (free shipping). This is not a GoPro product and a different design than the official GoPro handlebar mount but it looked like a decent design and the price was right.

The mount arrived and I quickly tried it out on a short 20 km ride. When mounted as described in the ebay listing the camera vibrated too much and the mount flopped over when subjected to too much vibration. The next day I mounted the camera upside down which resulted in more stability/less vibration and, because it was hanging down rather than sticking up, the flopping over was no longer a problem.

Shooting straight ahead wasn’t really an option because the brake cables would be in the shot. I put it on my husband’s bike and pointed the camera to the left so that I could get some footage of myself riding beside him. I was pleased with the results. Got some nice video and shots.

Too bad the mount broke part through the ride sending the camera and half the mount hurling to the ground. I heard of this happening before to someone who’s camera bounced in to the road and got run over by a transport truck (they never did find the blackbox i.e. memory card).

Suffice it to say…the design is flawed. The mount would be fine for something stationary such as a patio railing but it does not tolerate vibration well.

gopro mount broken

^^ Vendor: wetech-batteries  from China. Don’t waste your money on this one! ^^

Image

^ taken with the GoPro mounted upside down on my husband’s handlebars^

One thought on “GoPro handlebar mount…you get what you pay for.

  1. Pingback: New bicycle handlebar mount – Testing tomorrow | GIVE HER THE GEARS

What's your spin on this?

